Curriculum Overview 

Department: Mathematics

Department Lead: C. Bell

Qualification: Level 1 or Level 2 GCSE (9–1) in Mathematics

Curriculum Statement:

To ensure every student, whatever age or ability, is given the opportunity to fulfil their mathematical potential. Our team will strive to achieve this aim by enforcing high standards and by delivering enthusiastic, high-quality teaching which provides our students with the skills and understanding they will need for their journey through life.
We expect the curriculum to be delivered in a positive and encouraging way to engage all learners in maths.

The scheme of learning is differentiated for students understanding and to ensure it is accessible to all. Where necessary, intervention is put into place and there is always challenge to stretch students.

Curriculum Aims:

The aims and objectives for the Pearson Edexcel Level 1/Level 2 GCSE (9–1) in Mathematics are to enable students to:

  • Develop fluent knowledge, skills and understanding of mathematical methods and concepts
  • Acquire, select and apply mathematical techniques to solve problems
  • Reason mathematically, make deductions and inferences, and draw conclusions
  • Comprehend, interpret and communicate mathematical information in a variety of forms appropriate to the information and context.

Link to Work Based Learning:

Students will be taught how to apply their maths skills to the world of work. Students will be offered a range of extra activities and provisions in which the students will gain further development of mathematics. Students will be given the chance to complete projects on Work Based Learning (WBL) which will consolidate any extra mathematical knowledge they obtain. Students will be presented with real-life situations in mathematical terms allowing them to use their own mathematics skills to answer related questions and issues.

Assessment Overview:

All students will be entered to one of two levels of assessment; Foundation or Higher. 3 Exams will be completed at the end of year 11. Two exams will be with use of calculator and a single exam without.

The GCSE (9 to 1) qualification will be graded and certificated on a nine-grade scale from 9 to 1 using the total subject mark where 9 is the highest grade. Individual components are not graded. For Foundation tier grades 1 – 5 are available, and for Higher tier grades 4 – 9 are available (grade 3 allowed).